Review: Let Me Skin Ultra H2O Modeling Mask – Green ★★★☆☆

Let Me Skin Ultra H2O Modeling Mask - Green

The concept of modeling or “rubber” masks isn’t foreign by now, they are ubiquitous and nearly everyone who knows a thing or two about skincare is sure to have used one at some point. They are a step-up from regular sheet masks and have a gooey consistency. This allows the user to apply the mask according to their face shapes and sizes, hence getting the best fit and adherence. The concept behind these “rubber” masks is to create a seal between your skin and the mask, thus preventing moisture loss and allowing the nutrients to be delivered efficiently into the skin.

Image result for let me skin modeling

Image credit: nutycosmetics.vn

Let Me Skin Ultra H2O Modeling masks come in 3 variants:

  • Green – Soothing
  • Pink – Brightening
  • Blue – Firming

The one I’m testing out today is the green soothing variant. It claims to calm irritated skin with ingredients such as centella asiatica extract and chamomile. Other beneficial ingredients include:

  • Niacinamide is the top hero ingredient for brightening skin for a more even, luminous complexion
  • Antioxidant-rich licorice, green tea, ginger and chamomile soothe and protect skin from damage
  • Hydrolyzed collagen helps to plump and firm skin
  • Avocado oil works to replenish fatty acids so skin has a youthful, healthy bounce

I really appreciate that this modeling mask pack comes with individually packed powder, gel and even a reusable spatula. There is absolutely no way to mess the ratio up since the masking experience should be a relaxing one, not a challenging one. Each capsule contains enough product for 2 uses and the capsule itself can be used as a mixing bowl.

Contents:

  • 2 x 50g gel base
  • 2 x 5g solution
  • 1 x spatula

$14 at Beautytap | Use my affiliate code MASKEPEDIA15 for 15% off non-sale items.
$19 on Amazon.
$20 at Peach & Lily | Receive $10 off your first purchase of $50+ with my referral link.

Step 1:
Aqua, Glycerin, Glucose, PEG-75, Algin, Potassium Chloride, Butylene Glycol, Niacinamide, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Centella Asiatica Extract, Zingiber Officinale (Ginger) Root Extract, Schizandra Chinensis Fruit Extract, Coptis Japonica Root Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Propolis Wax, Caprylyl Glycol, 1,2- Hexanediol, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Trisodium Phosphate, Tetrasodium Pyrophosphate, Cellulose Gum, Epilobium Angustifolium Extract, Vaccinium Angustifolium (Blueberry) Fruit Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, CI 77288, Allantoin, Chlorphenesin, Disodium EDTA, Fragrance

Step 2:
Aqua, Calcium Sulfate, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Zea Mays Starch, Potassium Chloride, Lycium Chinense Fruit Extract, Zingiber Officinale Root Extract, Schizandra Chinensis Fruit Extract, Coptis Japonica Root Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Centella Asiatica Extract, Propolis Wax, Caprylyl glycol, 1,2-Hexanediol, Lecithin, Cetearyl Alcohol, Phytosqualane, Hydrogenated Macadamia Seed Oil Esters, Epilobium Fleischeri Extract, Potassium Sorbate, Xantan Gum, Cellulose Gum, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Morus Alba Bark Extract, Citrus Paradisi Fruit Extract, Bacillus/Soybean Ferment Extract, Hydrolyzed Collagen, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice Powder, Chlorphenesine

Let Me Skin Ultra H2O Modeling Mask - Green

Before masking

My skin is feeling dehydrated and slightly sensitive. I’ve cleansed, exfoliated, and toned my skin. Find out how I normally prep my skin for masking.

Let Me Skin Ultra H2O Modeling Mask - Green

Let Me Skin Ultra H2O Modeling Mask - Green

Instructions:

  1. Open Solution 1 and pour it into a mixing bowl
  2. Open Solution 2 and add it to Solution 1 in the same mixing bowl
  3. Stir for 30 seconds
  4. Use spatula to apply the mask onto your face
  5. Leave mask on for 20-30 minutes
  6. When the mask has dried, simply remove it and finish up with your normal skincare routine

The first packet came out as a dull blue gel. It had a pretty strong perfumey fragrance. It was really easy to squeeze everything out without masking a mess.

The second packet surprised me a little. Instead of the usual white powder, this came out as a white liquid. This was an advantage since white powders usually kick off during the stirring process. It did not give off a scent.

Let Me Skin Ultra H2O Modeling Mask - Green

After a few quick stirs, the mixture just looked and smelled like the gel base from the first packet.

Let Me Skin Ultra H2O Modeling Mask - Green

During masking

There was a nice cooling sensation the moment it touched my skin. Application was a breeze even though I’m not good at spreading modeling masks. Despite looking like a dripping swamp monster, the mixture was actually firmer than most modeling masks I’ve tried. It did not flow down as fast as the others. But I still had to lay down for the first 10 mins to let it entirely set so it would stop flowing down further. Once it was set, it stayed put even though I slathered on a really thick layer in order to use all of it up. After that, I was able to go about with my activities without the need to lay down. There was a mild minty sensation the entire time.

The instructions had waiting time set for 20 mins, but I personally found it too short as the mask was still pretty damp even though the jelly has set. So I waited a total of 1 hour, during which I was really tempted to remove the mask due to the intense fragrance.

Let Me Skin Ultra H2O Modeling Mask - Green

The right way to peel this off is from the bottom up. But the whole piece just came sliding off my face once I detached it at the chin. It felt really satisfying to get the whole piece off. Modeling masks usually come off in bits and pieces. It felt like jello and I had so much fun with it!

Let Me Skin Ultra H2O Modeling Mask - Green

After masking

There was little to no essence left to pat in. Finish was tacky and dewy at first but dried down silky and only slightly tacky after 30 mins.

Visually, there didn’t seem to be any drastic difference to my skin, except for the dewy finish. My skin felt very hydrated and moderately moisturized. There was an uncomfortable hydrating film on top of my skin which made me very tempted to wipe it off with a toner-soaked cotton. But I decided to leave it on and skip the rest of my skincare routine.

My skin also looked slightly less red, which was disappointing for a mask that’s meant to calm skin down. I did not observe any change to my skin texture.

Below is a side by side comparison of the before and after pictures.

I’ve used better modeling masks. Considering the price of this mask and the effects I got, I’d say this was a disappointment. My favorite Aqua Bab modeling mask still remains the unbeaten champion in the modeling mask department.

$14 at Beautytap | Use my affiliate code MASKEPEDIA15 for 15% off non-sale items.
$19 on Amazon.
$20 at Peach & Lily | Receive $10 off your first purchase of $50+ with my referral link.

Go be beautiful!

Love,
Elaine

Leave a comment