Review: The Creme Shop Glow Up, Skin! Unicorn Face Mask ★★☆☆☆

The Creme Shop Glow Up, Skin! Unicorn Face Mask is a special edition sheet mask with rainbow shimmer essence infused with rainbow pearl, which according to the brand is the next best thing to unicorn tears. This sheet mask claims to restore dullness to reveal skin that quite literally gleams and sparkles.

I personally think the whole unicorn trend is cute and appealing. As an avid sheet masker, I was excited to see this! However, I try to remain practical and judge it based on the results.

$4 at The Creme Shop.

water, glycerin, butylene glycol, PEG-60 hydrogenated castor oil, carbomer, xanthan gum, 1,2-hexanediol, pearl powder, zanthoxylum piperitum fruit extract, pulsatilla koreana fruit extract, usnea barbata (lichen) extract, centella asiatica extract, allantoin, synthetic fluorphlogopite, tin oxide, titanium dioxide, triethanolamine, phenoxyethanol, propanediol, hydroxyacetophenone, disodium EDTA, fragrance

The Creme Shop Glow up, Skin! Unicorn Face Mask

Before masking

My skin is feeling a tad dry today. There are also some underlying whiteheads that have yet to surface. I’ve cleansed, exfoliated, and toned my skin. Find out how I normally prep my skin for masking.

The Creme Shop Glow up, Skin! Unicorn Face Mask

Material

Out of the packet, I caught a strong floral fragrance. The cotton material felt stiff, thick, and a little rough. It did not come with a backing. This is a character sheet mask with a cute unicorn print. Unicorn lovers rejoice!

The Creme Shop Glow up, Skin! Unicorn Face Mask

Essence

I was really surprised to find micro glitters in the milky essence. The micro glitters created a holographic swirl in amidst the milky white base and made the whole thing so mesmerizing and pretty to look at! The essence had a slippery soapy feel to it though. There wasn’t much essence left in the packet after the sheet mask was removed. I was a little disappointed because I was hoping to slather it all over my body and shine like a goddess.

The Creme Shop Glow up, Skin! Unicorn Face Mask

During masking

Fit was average. The sides were too wide so the excess material created extra lifts and flaps, which sorta ruined the look I was going for. Also, to avoid messing up the look even further, I was hesitant to tuck in or cut excess material, which further contributed to the bad fit.

Adherence was bad. The edges were lifted the whole time and refused to stay down. Fold lines were also barely staying down. By the end of the masking session, the lifts had introduced lots of air bubbles underneath the sheet mask.

I took the mask off after 20 mins, it was starting to dry out and was barely staying on. Still, I find the look really cute and enjoyed taking selfies.

The Creme Shop Glow up, Skin! Unicorn Face Mask

The Creme Shop Glow up, Skin! Unicorn Face Mask

After masking

After massaging in the essence, finish was silky and just a tad tacky. The micro glitters were invisible! My skin definitely looked shimmery and glowy, but I knew it was just the micro glitters at work. This sheet mask also gave my skin some basic hydration and moisturization.

Below is a side by side comparison of the before and after pictures.

I’m personally not a huge fan of surface gimmicks like printed sheet masks and glitter in skincare, but I have to admit that this mask was alot of fun. It makes for a great talking point and selfie session at a girl’s night in or gathering of friends. Check out reviews of more Creme Shop masks here.

$4 at The Creme Shop.

Go be beautiful!

Love,
Elaine

Leave a comment