Review: 23 Years Old Cacao Energy Modeling Mask ★★★☆☆

23 Years Old Cacao Energy Modeling Mask

23 Years Old Cacao Energy Modeling Mask is the brand’s latest addition to their line of modeling masks. The other variants are Aqua Bab and C-Tragel, both of which I have reviewed. This Cacao Energy variant is a nourishing care rubber mask treatment formulated to treat and prevent charging of skin energy and moisture loss, while combating damage caused by environmental stress.

It contains cocoa seeds, chia seed, lavender oil and other nourishing ingredients to moisturize, calm and infuse nutrition into tired skin It also helps to strengthen the skin defense barrier and restore its health.

23 Years Old Cacao Energy Modeling Mask

Modeling masks always make me feel so fancy, because they used to only be available at spas. But with the increasing popularity of Korean masks, these have become a common item in beauty enthusiasts’ households.

23 Years Old Cacao Energy Modeling Mask

One important thing to note about masks from 23 Years Old, they all come with a holographic authentication or anti-counterfeit sticker. These modeling masks will have a vertical banner sticker while sheet masks will have a rectangular sticker. That’s how you know if what you’ve bought is the real deal. Another fail-safe method is to only shop at trustworthy websites.

23 Years Old Cacao Energy Modeling Mask

My first experience with modeling mask is with a humongous ziplock pack of pink powder where I had to measure out the appropriate amount of powder to water ratio with measuring spoons and cups. It is extremely challenging to get the perfect consistency and frustration often ensues.

23 Years Old Cacao Energy Modeling Mask

Hence I really appreciate that this modeling mask pack comes with individually packed powder, gel and even stirring sticks for 4 uses. There is absolutely no way to mess the ratio up since the masking experience should be a relaxing one, not a challenging one.

Contents:

  • 4 x 5g powder packs
  • 4 x 50g gel packs
  • 4 x popsicle sticks

$34.90 on Amazon.

Gel pack:
Aqua, Glycerin, Glucose, PEG-75, Algin, Butylene Glycol, Potassium Chloride, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Centella Asiatica Extract, Zingiber Officinale (Ginger) Roor Extract, Schizandra Chinensis Fruit Extract, Coptis Japonica Root Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Propolis Wax, Caprylyl Glycol, 1,2-Hexanediol, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Trisodium Phosphate, Tetrasodium Pyrophosphate, Niacinamide, Cellulose Gum, Allantoin, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Fruit Powder, Avena Sativa (Oat) Meal Extract, Phenoxyethanol, Pueraria Mirifica Root Extract, Hydrolyzed Collagen, Bifida Ferment Lysate, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Acetyl Hexapeptide-8, Copper Tripeptide-1, Ethylhexylglycerin, Adenosine, Simmondsia Chinenses (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Disodium EDTA, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil

Powder pack:
Glucose, Calcium Sulfate, Salvia Hispanica Seed, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Niacinamide, Sodium Hyaluronate, Allantoin, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Powder

23 Years Old Cacao Energy Modeling Mask

Before masking

My skin is feeling dry and slightly irritated. I’ve cleansed and exfoliated my skin. Find out how I normally prep my skin for masking.

 

Instructions:

  1. Mix the gel pack and the powder pack in the mixing bowl.
  2. Stir the mixture with the spatula well until completely mixed.
  3. Using the spatula, apply evenly over the entire face.
  4. When dried after about 20 minutes, remove the mask, gently peeling in the upward direction starting at the bottom.
  5. Lightly tap the remaining essence onto the skin to allow full absorption.

 

I’ve rinsed out the container that the masks came in, it’s the perfect size to contain the mixture. Again, I really appreciate how thoughtful the entire packaging design is.

The 50g of golden brown jelly went in first. It was easy to squeeze everything out without making a mess. The golden brown jelly gave off a mild minty scent.

 

5g of fine white powder went into the bowl next. It was finely milled and contained little black bits which I suspected were the cocoa seeds. The powder was so fine that it resembled powdered sugar. I did not detect any scent coming from the powder alone because I was afraid that sniffing might just turn into snorting. After a few quick stirs with the popsicle stick provided, the mixture was ready to go.

23 Years Old Cacao Energy Modeling Mask

During masking

There was a nice cooling sensation the moment it touched my skin. Application was a breeze even though I’m not good at spreading modeling masks. Unlike the Aqua Bab and C-Tragel variants, this variant had a runnier consistency. So I decided to let it dry down for 5 mins before starting application. I had to lay down for the first 10 mins to let the mask set, otherwise it would’ve dripped all over the place. Once it was set, it stayed put even though I slathered on a really thick layer in order to use all of it up. After that, I was able to go about with my activities without the need to lay down.

The instructions had waiting time set for 20 mins, but I personally found it too short as the mask was still pretty damp even though the jelly has set. So I waited a total of 1 hour.

23 Years Old Cacao Energy Modeling Mask

The right way to peel this off is from the bottom up. But the whole piece just came sliding off my face once I detached it at the chin. It felt really satisfying to get the whole piece off. Modeling masks usually come off in bits and pieces. It felt like jello and I had so much fun with it!

23 Years Old Cacao Energy Modeling Mask

After masking

There was still see some brownish essence left on my skin. It absorbed with ease after a few quick pats. The brownish essence gave my skin a slight brownish tone. If I had intended to head out that day, I would’ve wiped it off with a toner-soaked cotton pad. Finish was tacky and dewy at first but dried down matte after 10 mins.

My skin felt very hydrated without an uncomfortable layer of hydrating film on top. Skin felt very supple and bouncy. Skin also looked and felt very calm, with smaller pore size. I did not observe any whitening/brightening effect but my skin was giving off a radiance that looked like it was coming from within. Moisturizer was optional but I slapped on a light layer anyway because my dehydrated skin has issues retaining moisture. My skin felt very healthy and balanced.

The effects were similar to my favorite Aqua Bab variant. I was overjoyed at first because that meant this made it into my HG modeling mask. However, the effects only lasted 3 hours. After that, my redness returned and skin wasn’t as plump anymore.

Below is a side by side comparison of the before and after pictures.

 

My favorite Aqua Bab modeling still remains the unbeaten champion in the modeling mask department. This Cacao Energy variant wasn’t bad but I think my sensitivity issue is pretty serious, only the Aqua Bab variant is able to keep it at bay. I’ll still recommend trying it out because masks from this brand seldom disappoint. Check out more 23 Years Old reviews here.

$34.90 on Amazon.

Go be beautiful!

Love,
Elaine

Leave a comment