Review: Etude House 0.2mm Air Therapy Lotus Mask ★★★★☆

Etude House 0.2mm Air Therapy series consists 15 varieties like strawberry, lemon, blueberry, damask rose, etc. Find my reviews here. These masks are made of 0.2mm super thin hypoallergenic cotton and is “light and comfortable like air!” They are also 7-free and only contain EWG green grade ingredients. They come in 3 different types of essences, in order of viscosity: moist runny essence; ampoule essence; and emulsion essence.

This sheet mask has a runny essence and contains 2,500ppm of lotus extract. Lotus is called the “flower of purification”. It has the ability to soothe and calm irritated skin caused by acne, and revitalize tired skin at the same time. This variant has alcohol listed pretty high up on the ingredients list. I normally avoid sheet masks with alcohol in it considering how long the sheet has to stay on the skin. However, these Etude House masks have proven to be non-irritating on my skin so I’m not too worried.

$1 a piece on Beautytap | Use code MASKEPEDIA15 for 15% off non-sale items.

Water, Glycereth-26, Dipropylene Glycol, Propanediol, Alcohol, Hydroxyethyl Urea, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, 1,2-Hexanediol, Nelumbo Nucifera Flower Extract (2,500ppm), Sodium Carbomer, Allantoin, Hydroethylcellulose, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Camellia Sinensis Root Extract, Dehydroacetic Acid, Sodium Hyaluronate, Disodium EDTA, Dipotassium Glycyrrhiza, Polyglyceryl-10 Laurate, Polygkyceryl-10 Myrstate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Boswella Serrata Gum, Beta-Glucan, Hydrogenated Licithin, Lavandula Augustfolia (Lavender) Oil, Eucalyptus Globullus Leaf Oil, Citrus Nobilis (Mandarin Orange) Oil, Citrus Limon (Lemon) Fruit Extract, Pinus Palustris Oil, Phytosteryl/Octyldodecyl Lauroyl Glutamate, Ceramide NP

Etude House 0.2mm Air Therapy Lotus Mask

Before masking

My skin is feeling dehydrated and slightly flushed. I’ve cleansed, exfoliated, and toned my skin. Find out how I normally prep my skin for masking.

Etude House 0.2mm Air Therapy Lotus Mask

Material

Out of the packet, I caught a faint alcohol scent. The material felt super soft and thin, almost-silk-like. I was surprised it did not come with a backing. Unfolding and applying the sheet mask turned out to be somewhat of a challenge.

As mentioned before, essence was clear, runny and dripping everywhere.

Etude House 0.2mm Air Therapy Lotus Mask

During masking

Fit was slightly unsatisfactory. Eye and mouth holes were too small, hence the awkward facial expression. The sheet was also on the small side. It was covering the inner perimeter of my face. Adherence was great! This started drying out at the 15 min mark, I poured the remaining essence onto my face to prolong the masking session. I had it on for a total of 30 mins.

Etude House 0.2mm Air Therapy Lotus Mask

Etude House 0.2mm Air Therapy Lotus Mask

After masking

The remaining essence patted in and absorbed with ease, leaving behind a silky-looking and slightly tacky finish.

My skin felt very hydrated and slightly moisturized. This was the perfect balance on my combo skin that required more hydration than moisturization. While patting in the essence, I also noticed how plump and smooth my skin felt. There was a reduction in redness and a healthy glow.

However, in about 15 mins, I noticed that my skin was starting to lose moisture and felt a little tight. I hurriedly layered on a gel moisturizer to seal in whatever hydration was still in my skin. I attribute this drying effect to the presence of alcohol in the essence.

Below is a side by side comparison of the before and after pictures.

It is okay to use a skincare product with alcohol in it as long as hydrating products are applied afterwards. Not nearly as good as my favorite rose variant, I still enjoyed this sheet mask especially on hot days. Check out more Etude House reviews here.

$1 a piece on Beautytap | Use code MASKEPEDIA15 for 15% off non-sale items.

Go be beautiful!

Love,
Elaine

Leave a comment